Walking Confessional

With my project I will be exploring the concept of communication, particularly within the concept of trust. The idea of communication is vital to the development of self and others. When we communicate we learn about each other. Often, in our communication we are guarded because we fear what those who we are communicating with will think of us. Because of this we often feel uncomfortable or tense because we have no means with which to express our true feelings. My project is based on the idea that a person is more likely to open up about something as long as anonymity is guaranteed. Therefore, I intend to create a ‘walking confessional’. I will blindfold myself and place myself in an area of heavy walking traffic. I will be holding a tray with pens, paper, and a large box. I will invite people to come up and write a secret that they have on a piece of paper and place it in the box. I will explicitly demand and assure anonymity. Through this, I hope to evoke the experience of religious reconciliation, without the judgment and the obligatory penance. I merely want to give people an opportunity to get something off of their chests by placing it into a box across mine. I will most likely give my performance either on the Case campus or the CIA campus. I intend to do so multiple times in different locations. 

Leave a Reply

